Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Random Soul - Live for the Moment - Random Soul Records

available at iTunes, Beatport, Juno, Amazon, and all other digital retailers.

‘Live For The Moment’ is the debut album from Random Soul, the Australian house duo of Yogi & Husky. The duo have made a big impression in recent years with releases for labels including Strictly Rhythm, Bargrooves, Salted and Large. The album, released on their own label, Random Soul Recordings, presents an effortless journey through 15 tracks that cement their position amongst the most established names in Deep and Soulful House circles, while also showcasing their talent in creating Soul, Jazz and Funk gems.

‘Live For The Moment’ incorporates everything from floating vocals and laid-back soulful grooves riddled with live instrumentation, through to bumping, funky club tracks.  The album also highlights their talent as songwriters with a string of captivating vocals featuring strong hooks, often performed by Yogi. Six vocal collaborators include well-known West Coast USA artists Chuck Love and Joshua Heath, as well as Natalie Conway, Kristen Pearson, Kyla Sexton and Louis Hale.  All are close friends of Yogi & Husky, and the chemistry of the relationships shines through: “Working with friends always makes the job seem more fun too, so doing tracks with people like Joshua Heath and Chuck Love, usually meant more jokes and laughing than ‘work’ per say. We enjoy getting other people in the studio as it creates such a different dynamic”

Listening to these collaborations and the album in full, it’s clear to hear where many of Random Soul’s influences lie, with the house sounds of Miguel Migs, Joey Negro, Grant Nelson and Groove Armada providing a strong focus, alongside funk and soul artists such as Rae & Christian and Smoove & Turrell.

Since 2005, Sydney-based Yogi & Husky have become two of the city’s most well known DJ/Producer exports. Combining their production skills, varied musical talents and their mutual love of Soul, Jazz, Funk, Motown, Disco and everything in-between, they have brought the Random Soul sound alive in clubs, bars and festivals around the world, and delivered hit after hit in house music circles. Their distinct studio sound is typified by Yogi’s keyboards and vocals, and Husky’s jumping bass-lines and driving drums - a sound that has given them a worldwide following and seen them command on-going positions at the top of download store sales charts, while picking up countless licenses of their music to international compilation series’.

Tsugi Mag (France) - "nice one tx"
SoulM8 (UK) - "quality"
Spirit Of House (Switzerland) - "Only half-way through the first month of the year, and we already have a contender for "album of the year"... Essential, by no means to be missed... A masterpiece…"
Art-D-Fact (The Netherlands) - "wonderful"
Magazine Sixty (UK) - "nice track - I Live For The Moment"
SoulM8 - "Great selection of feel good house infused with soul and jazz - nice!"
Rodon (Greece) - "Love the sound of Random Soul, they are the best from Down Under! Their debut album sounds perfect, from the soul and funk era until their unique bump or house style. For the first time you will discover their downtempo extension on their acid jazzy ‘’I Live For The Moment’’, ‘’Problems In Strength’’, ‘’Different Personalities’’, ‘’A Gentle Sea’’ and their midtempo boogie on ‘’One Night Love’’. Their prolific house sound exported with soulful and funky attitude by tracks like ‘’Hooked Upon Your Love’’, ‘’Mysterious’’ – can’t wait to listen Richard Earnshaw’s Remix on the this one, the first single of the album - and their cool illustrated synth fusion by ‘’Are We’’, ‘’Falling Away’’, ‘’Gravity’’ and ‘’For All Seasons’’. Personal HIGHTLIGHTS their collaboration with Joshua Heath on ‘’Time To Funk’’, Chuck Love on ‘’Another Day’’, jazzy ‘’For All Seasons’’, heavy 80s soul of ‘’Gravity’’, ‘’Hooked Upon Your Love’’, ‘’Falling Away’’ and the same titled track. In the end I have to mention that ‘’Hard To Love Me’’ reminds me a lot Martin Solveig."

The New Black - 1000 Little Black Dresses EP - Whiskey Pickle

available at Traxsource, Beatport, iTunes, and all other digital retailers.

1. Stone Cold Groove
2. Androids Are Sexy
3. Like I Can
Early support from:
Greg Wilson
Tal M. Klein
Mark Farina
Andy Riley (Inland Knights)
Severino Panzetta (Horse Meat Disco)
Nick Warren
Sunshine Jones (Dubtribe Soundsystem)
Ulysses (Neurotic Drum Band)
Jason Blakemore
DJ Rocca (Ajello)
Manuel Sahagun
Ken Liu
Whiskey Pickle Records is beyond stoked to present the debut EP from Texas’ own cosmic-funksters The New Black. This slick production duo, comprised of Nathan Stewart and William Bowers, have a combined resume that includes releases on Kolour Recordings, residencies at the legendary Houston club night Dedicated, and support duties for the likes of Inland Knights, Fred Everything, and Chris Lum. The 1,000 Little Black Dresses EP kicks off with the filtered funk stomp of “Stone Cold Groove,” which combines a soulful, earthly bass and a horn sample that unfolds under heavenly pads, leads, and arpeggios. The b-side, “Androids Are Sexy,” ups the tempo with a groovy synth bass as psychedelic found samples lend to its druggy, warehouse vibe. Rounding out the package, “Like I Can” utilizes a classic groove that pays tribute to the Brothers Gibb while bittersweet chords pulsate over sub bass and filtered vocal stabs. This is the sound of Whiskey Pickle Records celebrating the sounds of summer a bit early. Crack open a Tecate, squeeze some lime, and let the vibes flow through. ARRIBA! ARRIBA!
Label and Artist Links:
The NewBlack
Artwork by : Fern Arguello / De Stijl Media
Released by: Whiskey Pickle
Release/catalogue number: WP008
Release date: Mar 4, 2013

Jarvis - Lo Fi - Cable Recordings

charted on promo on Traxsource in the Top 10 downloads on the Tech House page - also available at iTunes, Beatport, Juno, and all other digital retailers.

Awo - Parallels - Velcro City

Awo’s delicious tune Parallels is back with a fresh new take by the man with the midas touch MooZ reworking the original into a dancefloor number. Both the original and the remix lend something for all of your senses.
Be kind, rewind.

available at iTunes, Juno, and all other digital retailers.

Arco, Andrea Fiorino - Sophisticated - Coyote Cuts

available at iTunes, Juno, Beatport. and all digital retailers

Jovonn - Crystal Vibes EP - Deeptrax Digital

Available digitally for the first time, this EP features timeless instrumental tracks by Jovonn.
Also featured is Crystal Vibes, a brand new production, making this a must have package.

All tracks produced and mixed by Jovonn Armstrong
Mastered by Greg Vaughn at the Spot Mastering, NYC
P&C 2013 Deeptrax Recordings, Brooklyn, NY

Follow us:

1. Jovonn - Crystal Vibes
2. Jovonn - Love Begins
3. Jovonn - Seven Wonders Of House
4. Jovonn - Jovonn Madness

available at all digital retailers, including Traxsource, Beatport, iTunes, and Juno.